Welcome to the CIVSEC 2018 Innovation Awards page!

Applications for the CIVSEC 2018 Innovation Awards are now closed.

The Innovation Awards shortlist can now be viewed in the following Media Release

The Awards will recognise and reward innovation by Australian individuals and organisations in products, services and business processes in the Cyber Security, Physical Security & Policing and the Disaster Relief, Emergency Management & Humanitarian fields. These represent the ‘fourth arm’ of Australian security: the protection of communities and national populations - those vital areas which can’t be addressed by the uniformed Australian Defence Force alone. There are two cash awards of $15,000 each, one for the most innovative Small to Medium Enterprise (SME) and one for the most promising Young Innovator.

The Awards will be presented for the first time by the Chairman of Industry Defence and Security Australia Limited during the CIVSEC 2018 Congress in Melbourne on Wednesday 2 May at 1430 in the CIVSEC Theatrette and will be open to all attendees at CIVSEC 2018.

Six awards will be presented in total for the following categories:

  • CIVSEC 2018 Innovation Award for Cyber Security
  • CIVSEC 2018 Innovation Award for Physical Security & Policing
  • CIVSEC 2018 Innovation Award for Disaster Relief, Emergency Management and Humanitarian Services
  • CIVSEC 2018 Young Innovator Award
  • CIVSEC 2018 National Innovation Award for Civil Security
  • CIVSEC 2018 SME Innovation Grant for Civil Security

The SME Innovation Grant and Young Innovator Award are worth $15,000 each.


The judges for the AMDSFA Innovation Awards have been selected for their broad understanding not just of technology but also the industrial and operational context in which it is applied. They understand the primacy of user needs and the differences that successful innovation delivers. As well as a core group, the judging panel has subject matter specialists for the major environmental domains in which we operate: Aviation and Aerospace; Maritime; Land and Defence generally; and Civil Security. The judging panel is chaired by former Deputy Chief Defence Scientist Dr Bill Schofield, AM.

The judges are:

  • Dr Jennie Clothier (CIVSEC Innovation Awards - National Security)
  • Dr Reece Clothier (Aerospace Innovation Awards)
  • Mr Campbell Darby, DSC, AM (CIVSEC Innovation Awards – Humanitarian and Disaster Relief)
  • BRIG (retired) Stephen Dunn (Land Forces Innovation Awards)
  • Dr Gregor Ferguson
  • Mr John O'Callaghan
  • Mr Tony Quick
  • Associate Professor Dev Ranmuthugala (Maritime Innovation Awards)
  • Dr Ian Sare
  • Dr Bill Schofield, AM
  • Professor Craig Valli, (CIVSEC Innovation Awards – Cyber Security)

For further information please contact:

Gregor Ferguson
Executive Manager, Industry development
Industry Defence and Security Australia Limited
PO Box 4095

Tel: 0414 803 717